FAQs About The Chakras

A chakra is a spinning energy center in the human body that receives, processes and transmits information, like a revolving door between your inner and outer worlds. The Sanskrit word “chakra” literally means “wheel,” which is an apt name for these powerful energy portals.

For more information, read the article, “An Introduction To The Chakras.”

There are many different opinions about how many chakras there are. The most popularly accepted model in the Western World acknowledges seven main chakras that reside along the energy channel of the spine (the sushumna) from the tip of the tailbone to the top of the crown.

Your chakras affect every single aspect of your life. Just as your DNA holds your genetic blueprint, your chakras hold your energetic blueprint. Any area of your life that you want to make better like, health, wealth, or relationships can be improved by working with one specific chakra.

1st Chakra – ROOT: Tip of  Tailbone/Perineum

2nd Chakra – SACRAL: Pelvis/Sacrum

3rd Chakra – SOLAR PLEXUS: Abdomen/Core

4th Chakra – HEART:  Center of Chest

5th Chakra – THROAT: Center of Neck

6th Chakra – THIRD EYE: Above and Between the Brows

7th Chakra – CROWN: Above the Crown

This question and others are answered in visual form on our Chakra Chart. Here’s a short summary of what each chakra represents:

1st – Root Chakra: Grounding, Prosperity, Safety, Career, Home, Organization, Foundation, and Ancestry

2nd – Sacral Chakra: Creativity, Intimacy, Fertility, Sexuality, Adaptability, Emotional Intelligence, Joy, Ease, and Flow

3rd – Solar Plexus Chakra: Confidence, Courage, Action, Focus, Energy, Optimism, Motivation, and Mental Clarity

4th – Heart Chakra: Love, Compassion, Connection,  Empathy, Gratitude, Forgiveness, and Healing

5th – Throat Chakra: Authenticity, Purpose, Self-Expression, Artistry, Communication, and Growth

6th – Third Eye Chakra: Intuition, Vision, Dreams, Clairvoyance, Insight, Imagination, and Love of Beauty

7th – Crown Chakra: Wisdom, Intelligence, Unity, Spirit, Awareness, and Bliss

The odd chakras (1,3, 5 – root, solar plexus and throat) are “masculine.” This means they’re contractive, directed and externally (and self ) oriented.

The even chakras (2,4,6, sacral, heart and third eye) are “feminine.” And this means their nature is expansive, responsive and internally (and relationally) oriented.

The “lower” chakras are the first three (root, sacral and solar plexus). They’re related to the physical plane and our material existence.

The “upper” chakras are the top three (throat, third-eye and crown). They’re related to our spiritual self.

The heart chakra is our energetic balance point. It acts as a sort of bridge between the “upper” and “lower” chakras.

Most people can actually feel their chakras. From the inside, your chakras create feelings like “butterflies in your stomach” (solar plexus chakra) or a warmth in your chest (heart chakra). From the outside, you can often feel them with your hands as a sort of “cushion” of energy. It’s even easier to feel someone else’s chakras. Have them lie on their back, and then put your hand over their solar plexus or heart. Start with your hand about two feet away, and then move it down until you start to feel their energy meet yours. It’ll feel like a light energy cushion moving out from their body.