Chakra Colors

In the late 1600s, Sir Isaac Newton beamed white light through a prism and got six distinct bands of color: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and violet. He then sent those six colors back through a second prism and got white light again.

His experiment is a perfect metaphor for the human chakra system. We come from pure white light – our spiritual essence — and eventually, when we die, we return to that pure white light.

During our physical existence, we are literally walking rainbows. Our six embodied chakras are the same color spectrum as a rainbow. The crown chakra,  located just at/above the crown, is sometimes depicted as violet, and sometimes shown to be white. This is fitting with its purpose as it acts as a sort of “bridge” between our earthly body (violet) and our pure spiritual essence (white).

Here are the colors related to each chakra:

Root Chakra – at the base of the tailbone – RED

Sacral Chakra – in the pelvis– ORANGE

Solar Plexus Chakra – in the upper abdomen – YELLOW

Heart Chakra – in the center of the chest– GREEN

Throat Chakra – in the center of the neck – BLUE

Third-Eye Chakra – in the center of the forehead – INDIGO

Crown Chakra – above the center of the head – VIOLET-TO-WHITE

The vibrational frequency of each chakra is lower as you get closer to the ground. That is, red vibrates much more slowly than green, and green vibrates much more slowly than white.

Since the rainbow colors of the chakras are all primary colors, the six bodily chakras can be paired into complementary opposites. Each complementary pair represents a significant chakra relationship/bridge between the upper more “spiritual” chakras (top four) and the lower more “physical” (bottom three) chakras. These are:

Red-Green:  The Home Chakras

The root chakra is about home and safety, and the heart chakra opens when it feels safe and “at home.” Hence, the old saying, “Home is where the heart is.”

Orange-Blue:  The Expressive Chakras

The sacral chakra is about emotions and creativity, and the throat chakra is about moving that creativity through the heart and raising it to a new level of deeply meaningful, pure expression and artistic mastery.

Yellow-Indigo:  The Vision Chakras

The solar plexus chakra is literally about clear vision and the third-eye chakra is about intuitive “seeing.” In other words, the third-eye chakra is about seeing beyond surface appearances into the deeper nature of things and having clear insight. It elevates the normal sight of the solar plexus chakra to a higher, non-egoic level.

My Chakra Boosters Healing Tattoos™ have been designed with loving attention to color. The primary hue of each tattoo corresponds to the color most typically associated with each particular chakra. Additionally, the middle area of each tattoo contains a white gradient to represent the pure spirit that is your true essence.